Rubble chocolate cake

My daughter loves Paw Patrol! So when she asked for a Rubble cake, I couldn’t say no.

I had to whip this together pretty quick, so I used as many ‘cheats’ as I could. Tasted great and took no time at all (despite dropping the first cake and having to start again!).
Ingredients

200g caster sugar
200g butter at room temperature
4 eggs
140g plain flour
60g Cocoa powder (I use cadburys bourneville)
1 tsp baking powder

To decorate

Ready made chocolate butter icing

2x share size bags of M&ms (plain chocolate ones are flatter so easier to stick to make the falling illusion)

Kitkats or chocolate fingers for the sides

I have the ‘Anti gravity cake tin‘ from Lakeland. But I’ve been told it’s just as easy to make this with a cake board and a few straws.

I used a few Paw patrol Toys and edible cake toppers to decorate around the outside.

Method

Preheat oven to 180C and lightly grease an 8″ cake tin

1. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy

2. Lightly beat the eggs and weigh out the flour, cocoa powder and baking powder. Add half the eggs and sieve in half the flour mix.

3. Mix and repeat with the remaining eggs and flour.

4. Add a pinch of salt and continue mixing until all combined

5. Turnout out into the tin and cook for 40-45 minutes until a skewer inserted comes out clean

6. Leave in the tin to cool!! This is where I dropped the first one… Wait until cool

7. Once cool, cut the dome off the top if needed and cut the cake horizontally and sandwich with a thin layer of butter icing.

8. Position the cake over the ‘kit’ or onto a cake board and position your straws.

9. Cover the sides, top and straw with butter icing and add the m&ms and kitkats. For the straw – start from the bottom and work your way up, using extra buttercream to stick the pieces to the straw

10. Position a box/chocolate wrapper etc over the top to give the ‘pouring effect’. My husband threw out the chocolate wrapper that I wanted to use, so we cut and wrapped an empty box instead.

The kids loved it and for such minimal effort – it looks great (even if I do say so myself!)


A lot of cake for turning 3! I should point out though – she thought the train was for decoration, the cupcakes were for preschool, the tart for the adults and her slice of rubble cake was the width of a kitkat finger. 

One thought on “Rubble chocolate cake

Leave a Reply

